NUS MBA Club Elections

nus mba club elections 2008

A post announcing the results of the NUS MBA club elections for NUS Business School in 2008.

Electoral fever not only gripped United States but also passed on to NUS Business School premises in late January. The MBA club elections were scheduled to be held in mid February for the post of respective Club Presidents, Directors for Program Development, Student Activities, Career Services and the ‘Big One’ the President of NUS MBA club.

The candidates kicked off the election campaign by floating their mandates for the forthcoming academic cycle, followed by canvassing within the cohort. The Consulting Club election set the tone for the rest of the two week marathon process. In a closely fought battle for the post of President of Consulting club, Isha Gupta scampered home by 11 votes to 9. Isha has laid down the agenda for the Consulting club members. Her emphasis will be on inviting industry experts, conducting case workshops and facilitating tie ups with Consulting Clubs of other major Business Schools. Gagan Deep, Atreyee Pal and Rohini Srivastava won the elections for the Executive Committee to make it an all women’s line up and set a fresh precedent in history of NUS MBA clubs.

The Finance Club elections was more of a one sided affair with Nevaj Kochar coming out victorious by a big margin. Nevaj has the enviable task of meeting the standards set by his predecessor Tushar Kheterpal. Finance Club has set extremely high standards for other clubs to follow and Nevaj will be looking to raise the bar. In his agenda, Nevaj will be broadening the scope of flagship events like FinXplorer Series and Study Trips.

The Marketing Club was again an All Women’s affair with Meghna Bhargav being declared new President of the club. Urmila Shinde and Shilpa Marodia are Executive Committee members of the club. Marketing Club faces a tough challenge from Consulting and Finance Club. The past year has been a subdued one for the club and the new office bearers are looking to buck the trend.

For the post of Directors of NUS MBA club (for the current term) – Program Development, Finance and Administration, Student Activities and Career Services: Ooi Aik Hwee, Danny Alexander, Shilpa Marodia and Pankaj Kumar were chosen the new leaders by the students.

nus mba club president 2008

The real thrill was reserved for the coveted post of NUS MBA Club President. Adarsh Abhineet, Rohini Srivastava and Hadi Christian formed a formidable three way contest. The campaign for the post reached its climax in the “Face Off” event for the candidates. Adarsh, Rohini and Hadi put forward a very strong case for themselves in front of Students, MBA office staff and the Program Director. While Adarsh spoke about his vision for the future of the NUS MBA program, Rohini detailed her contributions to the MBA program till date and her future plans. Hadi stressed more on bringing in diversity to the club events and encouraging participation in club activities from all nationalities.

With three strong candidates in fray, their supporters too upped the ante by vigorously canvassing for their respective leaders, displaying posters and roping in Part Time students. Election fever reached its crescendo during the voting period and it was impossible to predict who the actual winner will be. Ultimately Adarsh Abhineet came out victorious in a tough and fair competition. The election result was followed by an Investiture ceremony where the incumbents handed over the responsibilities to newly elected leaders.

Program Director, Dr. Nitin Pangarkar, Vice-Dean graduate studies, Susanna Leong, Director, Graduate studies, Lim Yue Wen , Head, MBA students development, Celia Wu and other MBA office staff graced the occasion with their presence.

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>